Growing up on the Diamond

baseball-diamondSome of my finest memories growing up were on the baseball diamond. As soon as the Christmas holiday was over, the countdown to baseball season began. Where I grew up, we had long cold winter seasons so baseball was also a hint for me that the periods were changing and soon I would be back on the diamond under the big blue sky and hot bright sun.

The initial week constantly started with examination camps and try-outs. Numerous of the various other children who I had actually not seen all winter long would make their way back to the ballpark so it was always wonderful to see loved ones that I had actually not seen for a few months. Everybody’s devices was glossy and constantly new as many of us had actually grown in the off period and required new baseball gloves and cleats.

I was always worried to take my initial at bat of the year. The others children were discovering to toss more challenging while possibly not finding out to toss more accurately. Too be truthful, it was a little bit terrifying sometimes. There was always a group of children who were the best and for the most part it always seemed to stay that way. I usually fit in with the top individuals although some years I would be left off of the top groups as I was not as constant as others. It did not matter to me as I simply loved being on the field.

Growing up, I was a pitcher and an initially base guy. I developed a curve ball which by all requirements can be incredibly nasty. When I played with the leading individuals, and my captain hook was working, I was a top of the rotation starter. When the curve ball had not been working, my speed was not strong enough to strike men out.

I established some elbow troubles which I attempted to play through when I was 16 years old. This made things worse and ultimately every pitch I tossed hurt my elbow quite a bit. It was odd because throwing a curve ball seemed to hurt less and I ended up being a captain hook initially pitcher which was extremely inadequate when it had not been working.

Ultimately, as I obtained older, various other sports and interests started to take control of and I had not been able to keep up with the top people. I played out my senior high school career however was not playing competitive ball any longer. None the less, a few of my best memories and buddies were had at the ball diamond and I do miss it. Baseball is a fantastic game and I enjoy playing and watching it now.

About firstbasecoach22

Big beauty who stands at first base and coaches little leaguers!

Leave a Reply

